

12th Florence Intermodal Forum

Investing into transport infrastructures. Where to focus?

27 October 2023

Sala Europa - Villa Schifanoia, Via Boccaccio 121 - Florence

Juan Montero-Pascual | Director Transport Area FSR, Florence School of Regulation

Matthias Finger | Deputy Director Transport Area FSR, Florence School of Regulation

Introduction

The first 'Community Guidelines' for the development of the trans-European network were adopted in July 1996. These guidelines incorporated a 'Master Plan', detailing the connection of major national road, rail and waterway networks between Member States, with the aim of relieving major European bottlenecks by addressing issues such as capacity restrictions and cross-border incompatibility.

The guidelines were amended in 1999 to include rules for the granting of EC and EU funding of Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) projects. These TEN-T guidelines incorporated a series of flagship 'Priority Projects' and allocated priority status according to their strategic importance and/or significant scale.

In 2009, the EC took the decision to launch a TEN-T policy review, with a view to further developing TEN-T policy ahead of the (then upcoming) budgetary period, 2014 to 2020. The review assessed successes and failures of TEN-T policy between 1996 and 2009.

In 2014 a new set of TEN-T guidelines were introduced, thus setting out a clear path forward for investment and action between 2014 and 2030. This new policy is built upon the concept of an integrated, multimodal, core network of corridors, linking major nodes through key rail, road, inland waterway, maritime and air transport connections. To support the transition to a cleaner, greener and smarter mobility in line with the European Green Deal and the Sustainable and Smart Mobility Strategy, the Commission also proposed to revise the TEN-T Regulation of 2013. Accordingly, the Commission made its initial legislative proposal for a revised regulation in December 2021. The new TEN-T regulation shall be adopted by the end of 2023 and become operational as of 2024. It aims to make theEU's transport network safer, more sustainable, faster, and more convenient for its users. To address the missing links and modernise the entire network, quality standards should be increased. For this, major TEN-T passenger rail lines should allow trains to travel at 160 km/h or faster by 2040. Canals and rivers must ensure good navigation conditions for a minimum number of days per year. Trans-shipment terminals should be improved, and piggyback services should become possible on the TEN-T's rail network. All major cities should develop sustainable urban action plans to promote zero-emission mobility. In addition, the transport infrastructure needs to become fit for bothcivil and defence use.

The Smart and Sustainable Single European Transport Area requires not only a strong political will but even more so substantial investments. The challenges European transport has been facing as of lately are unprecedented (Covid-19 and the war in Ukraine, to name a few). This is in addition to the ongoing challenges of digitalisation and decarbonisation.

Draft Programme

27 October

- 08.45 09.00 Welcome coffee
- 09.00 09.30 Setting the scene

Matthias Finger | Deputy-Director, FSR Transport, EUI (introductory remarks) Philippe Chantraine | Acting Head of Unit, Transport Investment (B2), DG MOVE

09.30 - 10.50 Session A – Building the trans-European network for a Single Market

What is missing?

Godfried Smit | Secretary General, European Shippers' Council, Brussels Delphine Grandsart | Research Officer, EPF Europe Irmtraut Tonndorf | Communications and Marketing Director, Hupac Ismail Ertug | Representative for Sustainable Mobility Europe, Deutsche Bahn AG

Round Table Discussion

10.50 - 11.10 Coffee break

11.10 - 12.30 Session B – Sustainable and Smart Transport

What are the investment priorities?

Harvey Chandler I Senior Policy & Public Affairs Manager, GIIA
Giovanni Aldeghi | Senior Loan Officer, European Investment Bank
Andrea Minuto Rizzo | Head of European and International Institutional Affairs, FS Italiane
Malika Seddi | Secretary General, Asecap

Round Table Discussion

12.30 - 13.30 Lunch break

13.30 - 14.50 Session C – Financing new public objectives

For which public policy objectives could investments be mobilized?

Loreta Maskalioviene I Vice minister, Ministry of Transport and Communications, Lithuania Adrian Mazur | Director of Transport Strategy Department, Ministry of Infrastructure Poland Alberto Mazzola | Executive Director, CER Carole Coune | Secretary General, AERRL

Round Table Discussion

14.50 - 15.10 Coffee break

15.10 - 15.50 Session D – The way forward: priorities and responsibilities

Are there new institutional entities that could solicit investments?

Ivo Cré | Director Policy and Projects, Polis Network **Linda Thulin** | Rail Freight Corridor Scanmed

Françoise Guaspare | Senior Policy Advisor, Île de France Representative Europe

Round Table Discussion

15.50 - 16.15 Synthesis and Concluding Remarks

Juan Montero | Director Transport Area FSR, Florence School of Regulation
Philippe Chantraine | Acting Head of Unit, Transport Investment (B2), DG MOVE
Matthias Finger | Deputy Director Transport Area FSR, Florence School of Regulation

Participants

Giovanni Aldeghi	European Investment Bank, Luxembourg
Harvey Chandler	Global Infrastructure Investor Association, GIIA, United Kingdom
Philippe Chantraine	European Commission, DG MOVE, Belgium
Carlos Corts	European Rail Supply Industry Association, UNIFE, Belgium
Paolo Costa	Universitá Ca´ Foscare Venezia, Italy
Carole Coune	Association of European Rail Rolling Stock Lessors, AERRL, Belgium
lvo Cré	Polis Network , Belgium
Koen Cuypers	Port of Antwerp-Bruges, Belgium
Ismail Ertug	Deutsche Bahn AG, Germany
Matthias Finger	Florence School of Regulation, Italy
Natalia Gortazar	Florence School of Regulation, Italy
Delphine Grandsart	European Passengers Pederation, EPF, Belgium
Françoise Guaspare	Île de France Representative Europe, Belgium
Aigi Kasvand	European Commission, Belgium
Darius Kowsar	SNCF Reseau/PRIME, France
Franciszek Łabno	Centralny Port Komunikacyjny, Poland
Loreta Maskalioviene	Ministry of Transport and Communication Lithuania, Lithuania
Adrian Mazur	Ministry of Infrastucture, Poland
Alberto Mazzola	Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies, CER, Belgium
Andrea Minuto Rizzo	Ferrovie dello Stato Italiane, Italy
Juan Montero	Florence School of Regulation, Italy
Jurgita Norkiene	Ministry of Transport and Communications, Lithuania
Francesco Rotoli	European Union Agency for Railways, ERA, France
Jose Samino	EU Railways Twinning project, Ukraine
Malika Seddi	Asecap, Belgium
Godfried Smit	European Shippers Council, Netherlands
Linda Thulin	RFC Scanmed, Austria
Irmtraut Tonndorf	Hupac, Germany
Sophie Trampf	European Commission, Belgium