logo-eui RSCAS
  • About Fsr Header


The Florence School of Regulation (FSR) was established as a centre of excellence for independent discussion and dissemination, regarding the regulation of:


The FSR was founded in 2004 by three European regulators in the energy sector

  • Pippo Ranci (co-founder of Council of European Energy Regulators CEER and former chairman of the Italian Regulatory Authority)
  • Ignacio Pérez-Arriaga (MIT and University of Comillas)
  • Jorge Vasconcelos (co-founder and chairman of CEER)

Since its creation the FSR has been providing a unique forum where European and national regulators, utilities, policy-makers and academics meet, debate and get trained.


Institutionally, the FSR sits as a programme of the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies of the European University Institute in Florence, Europe’s intergovernmental institution for doctoral and postdoctoral studies and research.

The FSR director, currently Jean-Michel Glachant, is the holder of the Loyola de Palacio Chair, established with the support of European energy regulators and the European Commission in 2008 to foster permanent common policy debate for the integration of the energy markets.


Through applied research, policy debate and innovative training, the FSR aims at improving the quality of regulatory policy in the crucial sectors of the European economy.